Attracting Pedophiles

I write this today because I want to warn my friends about something that has become increasingly popular but could put your children in danger…

A few months ago I took a “Rape Aggression Defense” (RAD) course. I recommend it to all my lady friends and teenagers. The class was taught by a police officer. One of the things we touched on was how so many people advertise to pedophiles. I knew many of the things we discussed…

Then we talked about something I never would have thought of. You know those cute little stickers everyone is putting on their cars. Some people have the little stick figures which represents their family. Sometimes it might be big fish with little fish, or Big flip flops with little flip flops. There are a million different varieties of these cute little stickers. I always thought they were cute and considered buying them for my own car.

These amazing little stickers are telling the world about your sweet children. They are also letting that pedophile in the car behind you know that you have children in the car. The people ones even tell pedophiles if you have boys or girls and how many. The really fancy ones may even let the pedophiles know about what age your children are, what sports or interests they have. Today I saw one on the back of a car with just a mom and five kids. Then dad was on the other side of the window running away. It may be that it is a joke, but it may be she is a single mom of five kids…

Pedophiles see these stickers, and they can follow you to your home. Or better yet, they can drive through your neighborhood and find the vehicles with these nice little stickers on the back. Now they know the houses that have their next victim. Pedophiles can go up to your children and ask them about their interests… “Excuse me, I was wondering if you play baseball… I am looking for a good baseball team for my son Tyler…” Some kids would fall for that line.

Do any of you have one of those window decals that says “Driving in memory of my father… ” ? Those are also great for pedophiles. Imagine your child playing out front. Man drives up and rolls down the window… “I heard you were the grandson of …. I used to work with … he was a great guy! He used to tell me all the time about you. I got a picture right here of your grandpa… want to see it?

You get the picture.

Just today on my commute I have counted over 25 cars with these cute little advertisements. I wonder if they have any clue of who they are attracting with these stickers and decals. If you have these decals I hope you give some serious thought to removing them from your car. They are cute, but are they worth endangering the safety of your children?

2 responses to “Attracting Pedophiles

  1. A good point, well made. It’s scary how devious such monsters will be.

    Jan