Daily Archives: April 15, 2011

Fate Bait

I got a call last night. It was my husband, Grumpy. “T, I just hit a white truck. I am okay.” I found out where he was, what he needed, and how the other driver was. He was very much in shock and having some difficulty answering my questions. I waited for my adrenaline dump and then calmly made my way to the accident scene.

Grumpy's car post accident

Grumpy was okay, walking around. His car looked a mess.  The driver of the other car came over and spoke to us. He was very calm and said several times “accidents happen”. Found out he was on his second date with his girlfriend (he was about 55 yrs old). The girlfriend may have a few broken or bruised ribs. She went off in an ambulance.

The other vehicle

The accident occurred about 9:30. Finally finished everything with the police (Grumpy was cited-failure to obey a stop light). I took Grumpy to the hospital just to be sure everything was okay. The hospital staff did an excellent job. They ran several tests. Grumpy got a clean bill of health, just some seat belt abrasions. I am very grateful he had his seat belt on, and even more grateful his airbags deployed.

A few years ago, he came home with a license plate. As soon as I saw it I had a vision of that tag on his car all crinkled up from an accident. The license plate? F8 B8- Fate Bait. In other words, he feels like Fate is always messing with him. I asked him to change it. Here is a closer look at the tag on his car.

Guess it lived up to its name....