Daily Archives: April 12, 2011

A bittersweet day…

It started with a turn of his head. He was in the hospital born early. As he gasped for oxygen the nurses had been keeping me away. I was his mom and I knew better. I finally got the strength and demanded that they allow me one minute with my precious son. They weren’t happy about it, but they gave it to me, muttering under their breath.They made me promise I wouldn’t touch him or it could harm him.

He was looking around like a wild man. His skin was blue. His fingernails purple. His face was even purple. He was moving around wildly, making the motions like he was crying but no sound was escaping his lips.

I said one word. His name.

It was like someone had just blew a breath of the cleanest air into his lungs. He stopped moving. I said his name again and he turned his head and looked right at me. I started to sing to him and he was still. Two minutes later he fell asleep.

That was the moment I knew we were bonded. That was the moment I knew that no matter what was to happen, he knew his mom was there, and that she loved him more than life. That was the moment I knew he loved me. Continue reading